Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies

P1000916

My friends know me too well.

For pretty much the past year, Sally’s Baking Addiction has been my most visited/printed/devoured blog, literally never letting me down with any of the recipes. It is gloriously American with the utmost indulgence, and practically every recipe is smothered in peanut butter (which is awesome).

So when I turned 21 in June, my wonderfully thoughtful friends (one special decision-maker in particular!) only went and got me the Holy Grail itself, and I was over the moon.

At that time we were all finishing our placement year and moving back home (with a little 2 week stint in a hotel in between) so there wasn’t really a kitchen for me to start testing out the book. But since I have now settled into my new job and can start baking every Friday for my ever-so-lucky new colleagues, I thought what better recipe to start with than the beautiful Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies on the front page?! They are famous after all.

Chocolate Chip Cake Batter Cookies (from http://www.sallysbakingaddiction.com) makes 24-30 cookies

P1000913

Ingredients

  • 160g plain flour
  • 190g cake mix
  • 1/2 tsp bicarbonate of soda
  • 170g unsalted butter, softened
  • 100g caster sugar
  • 100g light brown sugar
  • 1 large egg, at room temperature
  • 1 and 1/2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 90g milk chocolate chips
  • 90g white chocolate chips
  • 80g sprinkles

Method

Cream together the butter and both sugars until pale and fluffy. Add to this the egg and vanilla, and mix until combined. Sift in all your dry ingredients so the flour, cake mix and baking soda (it is important to sift so that you get rid of the lumps of cake mix!). Now gently fold in the chocolate chips and sprinkles. As you can see I used white chocolate chunks, as that’s all I could find in my speedy-supermarket-lunch-break-dash.

P1000915

Boy oh boy do I love cookie dough.

P1000914

The next step is to wrap up your bowl and shove it in the back of the fridge, so you can’t see it, touch it or eat it!

It is SO important to chill your cookie dough, otherwise it is just ridiculously sticky and ends up splurging everywhere when you bake it. If there’s one thing Sally drills into her readers, it is to always chill ya dough.

When you’re ready to bake, preheat your oven to 180°C and line two baking trays with greaseproof paper.

Using about 1 tbsp of cookie dough per cookie, roll your balls so that they are taller rather than wide, which means they stay lovely and puffy when they bake in the oven. Press some more chocolate chips into the top of the cookies if you so wish.

P1000917

Bake the cookies for 10-12 minutes, and no longer. They will appear very soft still, but because of the brown sugar they will collapse when taken out of the heat and will set nicely. Now you can press even more chocolate chips into the top, if you so wish (again!)

P1000919

Allow them to cool on the tray for 5 minutes, then using a spatula it will be nice and easy to move them onto a wire rack to cool completely. Now pop them in a container and they will last for up to a week, but I think giving them out is a much better idea. Because who can resist a cookie made out of cake batter and sprinkles?!

Next on my list from Sally’s wonderful book are the Brown Sugar Glazed Apple Bread and the Fudge Ripple Monster Bars. Coming soon!

 

4 thoughts on “Cake Batter Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Chloe says:

    Love SBA, I look on there all the time! These do look gorg, I’ve tried her normal chocolate chip cookies but I may have to try these… 😀

Leave a Reply

