Ultimate Chocolate Brownies

IMG_0396

One of the little things I look forward to every Friday is making a cup of tea, nabbing a bit of cake and sitting down to read Rachel Phipp‘s Weekly Love post. It’s one of the few pages on this vast world wide web which I genuinely read through with intense concentration, with all of the links appealing to bloggers and foodies alike. So when I read her piece about The Great Denby Cake Off, I simply knew I had to enter and set to racking my brains for something new, exciting and innovative to bake.

During my mental exhaustion, I was being asked over and over by friends and family to bake my ultimate chocolate brownies. It is a wonderfully simple, gloriously indulgent recipe that has proved time and time again to please anyone who comes into contact with it. So with this post, I’m going down the whole ‘do something simple and do it right’ road, much like Norman from The Great British Bake Off, my baking idol and gone from the show far too soon if you ask me!

Ingredients

  • 120g butter
  • 200g dark chocolate
  • 200g caster sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 90g plain flour
  • 1/4 tsp salt
  • 200g mix of dark and milk chocolate chips

IMG_0386

Method

Preheat the oven to 180°C and line a 9×9 inch baking pan with greaseproof paper, leaving overhang on all sides so you can easily lift the brownies out when they’re baked. Break up your chocolate into a glass bowl (I used Lindt 70% because it was on offer in Waitrose, but I find all brands taste the same once in brownie form!) add the butter and melt over a pan of simmering water, stirring until smooth and glossy.IMG_0387Allow the mixture to cool for 10 minutes on the side before whisking in the caster sugar. Then add the eggs, one at a time, whisking until smooth after each addition. Whisk in the vanilla. Using a wooden spoon gently fold in the flour and salt until combined, followed lastly by the chocolate chips. Pour the now luscious batter into the prepared baking pan, using a spatula to get every last bit from the bowl (I find this helps not only the brownies, but stops you from scoffing the lot left behind in the bowl! Chef’s privileges?).

IMG_0390Give the pan a little tap on the side to level out the batter.

IMG_0391

Bake in the preheated oven for 24 minutes. But I would check and insert a sharp knife after 22 minutes, if your brownies have a crackly top and a few moist crumbs clinging to the knife then bring em out, they’re ready!

IMG_0395Allow the brownies to cool completely in the pan on a wire rack to let the air circulate. When completely cool, lift them out of the pan, cut into squares and be sure to immediately enjoy a warm, fudgey slice all to yourself before boxing them up for other lucky folk.

IMG_0394These chewy fudgey homemade brownies are a chocolate lovers dream. They have a dense structure due to the small amount of flour (who in their right mind would prefer a cake-like brownie?!) but still has a little crumb. The interior is moist and intensely chocolatey, with a lovely crispy edge to top it all off.

IMG_0398Now I know pretty much everyone has their very own go-to recipe for the perfect brownie, but give this one a try and I would bet you any money you will be converted! Once you have mastered this version, the brownie world is your oyster and you can create masterpieces like peanut butter swirled brownies, cheesecake brownies, mint chocolate chip brownies, Reese’s peanut butter cup brownies….the possibilities are endless!IMG_0402

4 thoughts on “Ultimate Chocolate Brownies

    • rosebudbakes says:

      Ah thank you Jennie! That’s so nice of you to say – it really is my favourite recipe after years of trying various different ones like Hummingbird Bakery and Nigella’s and Jamie’s. Who doesn’t love a bit of extensive recipe research?! Rosie x

    • rosebudbakes says:

      Ooh Jess that sounds delicious, I imagine Lindt in a flourless chocolate cake would be heavenly! As a student I am guilty of hunting down the cheapest chocolate on offer for my bakes, but when I’m home on the food shop I sneak in the odd bar of Green & Black’s or Lindt. It really does make the world of difference to the taste! Just had a peek at your website, your recipes look beautiful 🙂 Rosie x

Leave a Reply

