Almond St Clement Cake

IMG_0727“Oranges and lemons, Say the bells of St. Clement’s”

The lovely people at The Book Boutique held a Facebook Bake-a-Long last week, and I was lucky enough to win a fabulous cookbook called ‘Konditor & Cook: Deservedly Legendary Baking.’ If you live in London, you may have stumbled across one of Gerhard Jenne’s string of successful bakeries, with the first shop opening on London’s South Bank. The book itself is filled with sweet German delights, most of which I’ve never heard of but am dying to try my hand at. Aside from the beautiful photography and enticing recipes, the book offers a very interesting insight into the baker’s career, and how he affectionately named his bakeries after the German work for pastry chef – Konditor.

This recipe jumped out at me because the author himself proclaims that when asked for his favourite cake, he responds with this Almond St. Clement Cake. It is lighter than light, made from the pulp of oranges and the rind of lemons, giving it a superbly intense citrus flavour. My family, believe it or not, have now christened it their favourite cake, too!

Ingredients (makes one 24cm cake)

  • 3 large unwaxed oranges
  • 1 unwaxed lemon
  • 5 medium eggs
  • 250g ground almonds
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 325g caster sugar
  • 60g flaked almonds

Method

Remove the zest from all the oranges and the lemon and set aside.IMG_0716Juice the lemon plus one of the oranges and set that aside too. Place the remaining two whole oranges in a saucepan, cover with water and bring to the boil. Simmer for one hour, then remove the oranges from the water and leave them to cool.IMG_0717IMG_0719Make sure to leave them for a good 5 minutes, or you will burn your fingertips to kingdom come (I’m quite sure my fingerprints are now non-existent due to my impatience). At this point you can preheat the oven to 165°C and line the base of a 24cm springform cake tin with greaseproof paper. Peel the oranges and reduce the flesh to a pulp, using a food processor.IMG_0720Add the eggs and the reserved zest, and blitz until completely smooth.IMG_0721In a very large bowl, mix the ground almonds, baking powder and 250g of the sugar.IMG_0718Add the orange and egg mixture, and mix with a wooden spoon until smooth. I say use a very large bowl because mine was most definitely not large enough – there was some serious sloppage going on.IMG_0722Pour the mixture into the lined tin and sprinkle the edge with the flaked almonds.IMG_0723Bake for 35-40 minutes, until the cake is risen and golden brown. Remove from the oven and allow to cool in the tin, on a wire rack. I’m totally unsure why, but my carefully placed flaked almonds gravitated towards the centre of the cake as it was baking. It must have been some sort of seismic pull.IMG_0724To make the glaze, place the remaining sugar and the reserved orange and lemon juice in a small saucepan and bring to the boil, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Simmer over a medium heat for 5 minutes to make a syrup. Remove the cake from the tin and brush the hot syrup all over it, then you can leave it to cool until serving.IMG_0727The book instructs to ‘Enjoy its juicy fruitiness plain, or add some Greek yoghurt and fresh fruit or a quick summer berry compote.’IMG_0735Seeing as though crème fraîche was the sole potential cake accompaniment presiding in my fridge at that time, we went for a dollop of that and it was positively heavenly! So I would absolutely recommend.

IMG_0736‘Konditor & Cook’ is jam packed full of gloriously decadent looking bakes, and I cannot wait to sink my teeth into them. Just not before baking this gem a few more times – it is simply one of the most beautiful cakes I have ever tasted!

7 thoughts on “Almond St Clement Cake

  1. scarletscorchdroppers says:

    Ooo, yummy – i’m really craving a slice of this cake now! It looks so delicious tender, and beautifully sticky around the outside.I’ve never heard of the technique with the oranges before – I can only imagine how good all that citrusy goodness must taste! 🙂 Jennie x

    • rosebudbakes says:

      Me too I wish I had a constant supply of this cake! I also dont think it’s too bad for you at all, very light with eggs and ground almonds (if you ignore the vast amount of sugar, which I do!) It reminded me of Heston’s Christmas pud where he bakes a whole orange into it, so funny. Definitely a keeper 🙂 x

      • scarletscorchdroppers says:

        Haha, I always tend to overlook the amount of sugar I put into things too….. I’m such a hypocrite, i’ll tut over the amount of sugar in a can of coke, but then merrily pour most of a bag into a cake and not think twice about it! Almonds defiantly make it a healthy cake!! x

  2. adrianatakemori says:

    I’d like to thank you very much for share this recipe! I’m brazilian and I have been in London last year for some classes, trying to improve my English – as you can see, I don’t think that was a sucdeed task =). Anyway, I have tried this cake in a cafe at the Regents Park, and I simply loved it. Since then I was thinking to do something similar that my husband can try it too. I found your recipe last week and I put it in action already. The cake is wonderful, my husband ate almost the entire cake. I translated the recipe to portuguese and share with my friends as you can see in this link (https://pocoesmagicas.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/st-clements-and-almonds-cake-bolo-de-sao-clemente-com-amendoas-sem-gluten-sem-lactose/).
    Thank you very much!

Leave a Reply

